Jun 16, 2024  
2018-2019 Graduate Catalog 
2018-2019 Graduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Ecology and Environmental Sciences

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Graduate Programs, Certificates, Specializations, Emphases

The University of Maine offers a comprehensive graduate training program in ecology and environmental science (EES). The interdisciplinary graduate program in Ecology and Environmental Science includes faculty members in 14 departments and schools who collectively represent a broad spectrum of expertise in the analysis of the physical, chemical, biological, ecological, societal, environmental policy, and paleoecological aspects of terrestrial, freshwater, and marine ecosystems. Specific areas of program emphasis at The University of Maine include: conservation biology, community and landscape ecology, population ecology and environmental physiology, agricultural ecology, ecosystems analysis of watersheds,  wetland ecology, forest ecology, marine and estuarine ecology, paleoecology, soil chemistry, biogeochemistry, environmental chemistry, environmental engineering, environmental measurements and remote sensing, geographic information systems, global change, environmental pollution, environmental economics, environmental policy, population genetics, and freshwater ecology.


Graduate students focusing in ecology and environmental science can earn either a Doctor of Philosophy or a Master of Science Degree (thesis or non-thesis).


To inquire about specific opportunities and the availability of graduate assistantships, write to any of the faculty members listed at our website whose interests are close to yours. For  more information about the Graduate Program in Ecology and Environmental Science, visit our web site at www.umaine.edu/ecologyandenvironmentalsciences or write to Graduate Program in Ecology and Environmental Sciences, 101 Nutting Hall, University of Maine, Orono, ME 04469, or e-mail: ees@maine.edu

Graduate Faculty

Climate Change Institute

Daniel Dixon (global climatology, environmental sustainability)

Cooperative Extension

Lakesh Sharma (assistant Professor Extension and Sustainable Agriculture)

Department of Anthropology

Christine Beitl (sustainability science, coastal and maritime anthropology, economic anthropology, environmental anthropology, political ecology)

Samuel Hanes (cultural and historical geography, environmental anthropology, agriculture, fisheries)
Darren Ranco (cultural anthropology, indigenous communities, and environmental justice)
Paul Roscoe (cultural anthropology, ecological anthropology)

School of Biology and Ecology

Andrei Alyokhin (Applied insect ecology, behavior and management)
Seanna Annis (Physiology of plant-pathogenic fungi)
Christopher Cronan (Ecosystem ecology, biogeochemistry)
Francis Drummond (Insect population dynamics)
Allison Gardner (Medical entomology, vector-borne disease ecology, epidemiology)
Jacquelyn Gill (Paleoecology, plant ecology)
Hamish Greig (Stream ecology)
Eleanor Groden (Applied insect ecology)
David Hart (Aquatic ecology, river restoration)
Rebecca Holberton (Endocrine physiology and ecology of migrant birds)
Michael Kinnison (Evolution and population ecology of fish)
Amanda Klemmer, (Food web ecology)

Danielle Levesque (mammalogy, ecophysiology, mammalian health)
Joyce Longcore (Chytridiomycete systematics and phytogeny; chytrid pathogen of amphibians)
Brian McGill (Large scale ecology and global change)
Brian Olsen (Conservation biology and avian evolutionary ecology)
Katherine Ruskin (Conservation, breeding biology, avian ecology, and biogeography)
Jasmine Saros (Paleoecology and aquatic ecology)

Department of Chemistry

Barbara Cole (Plant and wood chemistry)
Howard Patterson (Environmental chemistry)

Ek Han Tan (Plant genetics and genomics, genome elimination, potato breeding, chromothripsis)

Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Aria Amirbahman (Environmental chemistry, pollutant fate and transport)
Shaleen Jain (Hydroclimatology)
Jean MacRae (Environmental microbiology)

Department of Communication and Journalism

Bridie McGreavy (environmental communication, argument and critical thinking, communication research, sustainability science)
Laura Rickard (risk communication, strategic communication, environmental communication, sustainability, policy)

School of Forest Resources

Mindy Crandall (Forest landscape management and economics)
John Daigle (Forest recreation management)
Adam Daigneault (climate change impacts and implications; catchment-level sedimentation mitigation; sustainable energy pathways)

Sandra De Urioste-Stone (Nature-based tourism)
Ivan Fernandez (Climate Change Institute)
Shawn Fraver (Forest ecosystems)
Laura Kenefic (forest ecology and management)
Jessica Leahy (human dimensions of natural resources)
William Livingston (Forest pathology)
Sarah Nelson (atmospheric deposition, surface water acidification, watershed mass balances, climate effects on water resources, spatial geochemical modeling)

School of Earth and Climate Sciences

Joseph Kelley (Coastal geology)
Andrew Reeve (Groundwater geochemistry, hydrology, wetlands, modeling)

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Richard Judd (Environmental history)

Department of Mathematics

David Hiebeler (Mathematical population ecology)

School of Food and Agriculture

Susan Erich (Soil and environmental chemistry)
Eric Gallandt (Sustainable agriculture, weed ecology and management)
Jianjun (Jay) Hao (Plant Pathology)
Pauline Kamath (Disease ecology and evolution, wildlife conservation, genomics, population genetics, phylogenetics)
Anne Lichtenwalner (diseases of livestock, poultry, and fish)

Tsutomu Ohno (Soil chemistry)
Bryan Peterson (Ornamental horticulture)


School of Economics

Kathleen Bell (Environmental and resource economics, land use, GIS)
Xuan Chen (Risk Management, Agricultural Finance, Production Economics, Spatial Econometrics)
Sharon Klein (Renewable Energy, Sustainable Energy Economics & Policy, Environmental Impacts of Energy, Thermal Energy Storage, Energy Poverty, Multi-Criteria Decision Making)
Jonathan Rubin (Energy and environmental policy)
Mario Teisl (Environmental labeling, resource economics)
Timothy Waring (sustainability, cultural evolutions, human culture and cooperation)

School of Computing and Information Science

Kate Beard-Tisdale (GIS)

Department of Wildlife, Fisheries, and Conservation Biology

Erik Blomberg (Wildlife population ecology)
Aram Calhoun (Wetland ecology)
Daniel Harrison (Mammal ecology)
Malcolm Hunter (Conservation biology, landscape ecology)
Cynthia Loftin (Systems and wetlands ecology, hydrology, GIS)
Carly Sponarski (Human dimensions of fisheries and wildlife conservation, wildlife policy and administration)
Joseph Zydlewski (Fish ecology and physiology)

School of Marine Sciences

Damian Brady (biogeochemistry, environmental oceanography)
Kristina Cammen (Evolutionary ecology and disease ecology of gray and harbor seals)
Yong Chen (Professor of Marine Sciences)
Teresa Johnson (Marine policy)
Aaron Strong (Coastal and marine policy, international ocean policy, climate change policy, marine conservation policy, social-ecological systems, sustainability science)
Heather Leslie (Ecology, policy, and management of coastal marine systems)
Joshua Stoll (marine policy)

Gayle Zydlewski (Oceanography, fish ecology)


Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Graduate Programs, Certificates, Specializations, Emphases