Jun 16, 2024  
2014-2015 Graduate Catalog 
    
2014-2015 Graduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Officers and Faculty


 

Officers of the University of Maine
Correspondence Information

Inquiries should be directed as indicated below.
 

Chancellor:  James H. Page, 16 Central Street, Bangor, ME  04401 (207) 973-3200

E-MAIL:  jpage@maine.edu

 

 

Officers of the University of Maine

 

President: Susan J. Hunter, 5703 Alumni Hall, Room 200, Orono, ME 04469-5703, (207) 581-1512.
E-MAIL: president@umaine.edu

 

Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs & Provost: Jeffrey E. Hecker, 5703 Alumni Hall, Room 201, Orono, ME 04469-5703, (207) 581-1547
E-MAIL: hecker@maine.edu

 

Associate Provost for Academic Affairs: Jeffrey St. John, 5703 Alumni Hall, Room 201, Orono, ME 04469-5703, (207) 581-1547
E-MAIL: jeffrey.stjohn@maine.edu

 

Vice President for Administration & Finance: Judy Ryan, 5703 Alumni Hall, Room 218, Orono, ME 04469-5703, (207) 581-1541.
E-MAIL: judyryan@maine.edu

 

Vice President for Development & Alumni Relations: Eric F. Rolfson, 101 College Ave., Orono, ME  04473, (207) 581-1151.
E-Mail:  eric.rolfson@maine.edu

 

Vice President for Enrollment Management:  Jimmy Jung, 5703 Alumni Hall, Suite 201, Orono, ME  04469-5703, (207) 581-1591
E-MAIL:  jimmy.jung@maine.edu

 

Vice President for Innovation and Economic Development: Jake Ward, 5717 Corbett Hall, Room 430, Orono, ME 04469-5717, (207) 581-2201
E-MAIL: jsward@maine.edu

 

Vice President for Research and Dean of Graduate School: Carol Kim, 5703 Alumni Hall, Room 201, Orono, ME 04469-5703, (207) 581-1506.
E-MAIL: carolkim@maine.edu


Associate Vice President for Research and Graduate Studies: David Neivandt, 5755 Stodder Hall, Room 45, Orono, ME 04469-5755, (207) 581-2288.
E-MAIL: david.neivandt@maine.edu

 

Vice President of Student Life and Dean of Students: Robert Q. Dana, Vice President, 5748 Memorial Union, Room 315, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-1406.
E-MAIL: robert.dana@umit.maine.edu

 

Maine Business School: Ivan Manev, Dean  5723 Donald P. Corbett Business Building, Room 211, Orono, ME 04469-5723, (207) 581-1968.
E-MAIL: imanev@maine.edu

 

College of Education and Human Development: William Nichols, Dean, 5766 Shibles Hall, Room 151, Orono, ME 04469-5766, (207) 581-2441.
E-MAIL: william.nichols@umit.maine.edu

 

College of Engineering: Dana N. Humphrey, Dean, 5796 Advanced Manufacturing Center, Room 210, Orono, ME 04469-5796, (207) 581-2216.
E-MAIL: dana.humphrey@umit.maine.edu

 

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences: Emily Haddad, Dean, 5754 Stevens Hall, Room 100, Orono, ME 04469-5754, (207) 581-1954.
E-MAIL: emily.haddad@maine.edu

 

College of Natural Sciences, Forestry, and Agriculture: Edward N. Ashworth, Dean, 5782 Winslow Hall, Room 105, Orono, ME 04469-5782 (207) 581-3202. ,
E-MAIL: edward.ashworth@umit.maine.edu

 

Division of Lifelong Learning: Monique LaRocque, Associate Provost, 5713 Chadbourne Hall, Room 100, Orono, ME 04469-5713, (207) 581-3113.
E-MAIL:mlarocque@maine.edu

 

Honors College: Francois Amar, Dean, 5716 Colvin Hall, Orono, ME 04469-5716, (207) 581-3264.
E-MAIL: amar@maine.edu

 

Academic Support Services for Student Athletes: Margaret A. Maxim, Director, 5747 Memorial Gymnasium, Orono, ME 04469-5747, (207) 581-1833.
E-MAIL: maxim@maine.edu

 

Admissions (Undergraduate): Sharon M. Oliver, Director, 5713 Chadbourne Hall, Room 115, Orono, ME 04469-5713, (207) 581-1561.
E-MAIL: UM_ADMIT@maine.edu

 

Advanced Structures and Composites Center: Habib J. Dagher, Director, 5793 Advanced Structures and Composites Center, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-2123.
E-MAIL: habib.dagher@umit.maine.edu

 

Alumni Association: Todd Saucier, President, 1 Alumni Place, Buchanan Alumni House, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-1138.
E-MAIL: todd.saucier@umit.maine.edu

 

Assessment:  Brian Doore, Director, 5703 Alumni Hall, Room 229, Orono, ME  04469-5703, (207) 581-1522
E-MAIL:  brian.doore@maine.edu

 

Athletics: Karlton Creech, Director, 5747 Memorial Gymnasium, Room 303, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-1052.
E-MAIL: karlton.creech@maine.edu

 

Auxiliary Services: Daniel Sturrup, Executive Director, 5734 Hilltop Commons, Room 103, Orono, ME 04469-5734, (207) 581-1799.
E-MAIL: dsturrup@maine.edu

 

Bursar: William Elsemore, Bursar, 5703 Alumni Hall, Room 100, Orono, ME 04469-5703, (207) 581-1521.
E-MAIL: elsemore@maine.edu

 

Bureau of Labor Education: Marc Cryer, Director, 5713 Chadbourne Hall, Room 210, Orono, ME 04469-5713, (207) 581-4124.
E-MAIL: marc.cryer@umit.maine.edu

 

Canadian-American Center: Stephen J. Hornsby, Director, 154 College Avenue, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-4226.
E-MAIL: hornsby@.maine.edu

 

Career Center: Patricia B. Counihan, Director, 5748 Memorial Union, Orono, ME 04469-5748, (207) 581-1359.
E-MAIL: COUNIHAN@maine.edu

 

Center for Aging: Lenard Kaye, Director, Camden Hall, 25 Texas Ave., Bangor, ME  04401, (207) 262-7922.
E-MAIL: len.kaye@umit.maine.edu

 

Center for Community Inclusion and Disability Studies: Lucille Zeph, Director, 5717 Corbett Hall, Room 230, Orono, ME 04469-5717, (207) 581-1084.
E-MAIL:  lzeph@maine.edu

 

Climate Change Institute: Paul A. Mayewski, Director, 5790 Bryand Global Science Center, Room 303, Orono, ME 04469-5790, (207) 581-2190.
E-MAIL: paul.mayewski@maine.edu

 

College Success Program: Alan B. Parks, Director, 5725 East Annex, Room 118, Orono, ME 04469-5725, (207) 581-2320.
E-MAIL: alan.parks@umit.maine.edu

 

Continuing and Distance Education and Summer University:  5713 Chadbourne Hall, Orono, ME 04469-5713, (207) 581-3414.
E-MAIL: CEDSS@maine.edu

 

Cooperative Extension: John M. Rebar, Executive Director, 5741 Libby Hall, Room 102, Orono, ME 04469-5741, (207) 581-2811.
E-MAIL: jrebarl@umext.maine.edu

 

Counseling Center: Douglas Johnson, Director, 5721 Cutler Health Center, Room 125, Orono, ME 04469-5721, (207) 581-1392.
E-MAIL: doug.johnson@umit.maine.edu

 

 

Equal Opportunity and Diversity: Karen D. Kemble, Director, 5754 North Stevens Hall, Room 101, Orono, ME 04469-5754, (207) 581-1226.
E-MAIL: kemble@maine.edu 

 

Explorations: Ethel Hill, Assistant Dean, Building 1, York Complex, Orono, ME 04469. (207) 581-1830.
E-MAIL: ethel.hill@umit.maine.edu

 

Fogler Library: Joyce V. Rumery, Dean of Libraries, Fogler Library, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-1655.
E-MAIL: joyce.rumery@umit.maine.edu

 

Franco American Centre:  Susan A. Pinette, Director, 5719 Crossland Center, Orono, ME 04469-5719, (207) 581-3790.
E-MAIL: spinette@maine.edu

 

Franco American Studies: Susan A. Pinette, Director, 5742 Little Hall, Room 213, Orono, ME 04469-5742, (207) 581-1832.
E-MAIL: spinette@maine.edu

 

Graduate School:  Scott Delcourt, Assistant Vice President for Graduate Studies and Senior Associate Dean, 5775 Stodder Hall, Orono, ME 04469-5755, (207) 581-3291.
E-MAIL: delcourt@maine.edu

 

Human Resources: Megan Sanders, Associate Vice President for Human Resources & Chief of Staff, 5717 Corbett Hall, Room 101, Orono, ME 04469-5717, (207) 581-1580.
E-MAIL: megan.sanders@maine.edu

 

Hutchinson Center:  80 Belmont Avenue, Belfast, ME 04915, (207) 338-8000.
E-MAIL:

 

Information Technologies: John H. Gregory, Executive Director, 263 Telecom Building, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-1602.
E-MAIL: John.Gregory@umit.maine.edu

 

International Programs: CK Kwai, Director, 5727 Estabrook Hall, Room 240, Orono, ME 04469-5727, (207) 581-3433.
E-MAIL: UMINTPRG@maine.edu

 

Maine Agricultural and Forest Experiment Station: Edward N. Ashworth, Director, 5782 Winslow Hall, Room 105, Orono, ME 04469-5782, (207) 581-3202.
E-MAIL: Edward.ashworth@umit.maine.edu

 

Margaret Chase Smith Center for Public Policy: Linda Silka, Director, Building 4 York Complex, Orono, ME 04469-5715, (207) 581-1648.
E-MAIL: info@mcspolicycenter.umaine.edu

 

Marketing and Communications:  Margaret A. Nagle, Senior Director of Public Relations and Operations, 5703 Alumni Hall, Room 213, Orono, ME  04469-5703, (207) 581-3743
E-MAIL:  nagle@maine.edu

 

Multicultural Student Life:  5748 Memorial Union, Room 312, Orono, ME 04469-5748, (207) 581-1428.
E-MAIL:

 

National Center for Geographic Information and Analysis: Kate Beard-Tisdale, Director, 5711 Boardman Hall, Room 348B, Orono, ME 04469-5711, (207) 581-2149.
E-MAIL: beard@spatial.maine.edu

 

Native American Research: Darren Ranco, Director, 5724 Dunn Hall, Room 303, Orono, ME 04469-5724, (207) 581-4450.
E-MAIL: darren.ranco@maine.edu

 

Peace and Reconciliation Studies: 5713 Chadbourne Hall, Orono, ME 04469-5713, (207) 581-2640.
E-MAIL:

 

Public Safety: Roland LaCroix, Chief of Police and Director, Rangeley Road, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-4053.
E-MAIL: roland.j.lacroix@maine.edu

 

Recruitment:  Brian Manter, Director, 5713 Chadbourne Hall, Room 207, Orono, ME  04469-5713, (207) 581-1598.
E-MAIL:  manter@maine.edu

 

Research and Sponsored Programs: Michael Hastings, Director, 5717 Corbett Hall, Orono, ME 04469-5717, (207) 581-1446.
E-MAIL: mhastings@maine.edu

 

Safety and Environmental Management: Wayne M. Maines, Director, York Village, Building 7, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-4055
E-MAIL: wayne.maines@umit.maine.edu

 

Student Financial Aid: Gianna Marrs, Director, 5781 Wingate Hall, Room 101, Orono, ME 04469-5781, (207) 581-1372.
E-MAIL: gianna@maine.edu

 

Student Health Services: Richard C. Young, Auxiliary Operations Director, 5721 Cutler Health Center, Orono, ME 04469-5721, (207) 581-4010.
E-MAIL: richard.young@umit.maine.edu

 

Student Records: Kimberly Page, Director, 5781 Wingate Hall, Room 201, Orono, ME 04469-5781, (207) 581-1288.
E-MAIL: kimberly.page@maine.edu

 

University of Maine Foundation: Jeffrey N. Mills, President and Chief Executive Officer, 2 Alumni Place, Buchanan Alumni House, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-5100, 1-800-982-8503.
E-MAIL: jeffmills@maine.edu

 

University of Maine Pulp and Paper Foundation: Carrie Enos, President, 5737 Jenness Hall, Room 217, Orono, ME 04469-5737, (207) 581-2297.
E-MAIL: carrie.enos@maine.edu

 

Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies: Mary Hough, Director, 5728 Fernald Hall, Room 101, Orono, ME 04469-5728, (207) 581-1228. 
E-MAIL: hough@maine.edu

 

Women’s Resource Center: 5728 Fernald Hall, Room 101, Orono, ME 04469-5728, (207) 581-1508.
E-MAIL: