May 25, 2018  
2008-2009 Graduate Catalog 
    
2008-2009 Graduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Officers and Faculty


Officers of the University of Maine
Correspondence Information

Inquiries should be directed as indicated below.

Chancellor:
Richard L. Pattenaude, 16 Central Street, Bangor, ME 04401 (207) 973-3200

Officers of the University of Maine

President: Robert A. Kennedy, 5703 Alumni Hall, Room 200, Orono, ME 04469-5703, (207) 581-1512.
E-MAIL: robert.kennedy@umit.maine.edu

Vice President for Academic Affairs & Provost: Susan J. Hunter, 5703 Alumni Hall, Room 201, Orono, ME 04469-5703, (207) 581-1547.-MAIL: hunter@maine.edu

Asociate Provost and Dean for Undergraduate Education: Stuart Marrs, 5703 Alumni Hall, Room 201, Orono, ME 04469-5703, (207) 581-1547.
E-MAIL: marrs@maine.edu

Vice President for Administration & Finance: Janet E. Waldron, 5703 Alumni Hall, Room 218, Orono, ME 04469-5703, (207) 581-1541.
E-MAIL: jwaldron@maine.edu

Vice President for Research: Michael Eckardt, 5703 Alumni Hall, Room 209, Orono, ME 04469-5703, (207) 581-1506.
E-MAIL: michael.eckardt@umit.maine.edu

Senior Advisor to the President, Evelyn Silver, 5703 Alumni Hall, Room 200, Orono, ME 04469-5703, (207) 581-1512.
E-MAIL: ESILVER@maine.edu

College of Business, Public Policy and Health and Director of the Maine Business School: John F. Mahon, Dean and Director of The Maine Business School, 5723 Donald P. Corbett Business Building, Room 211, Orono, ME 04469-5723, (207) 581-1968.
E-MAIL: mahon@maine.edu

College of Education and Human Development: Anne E. Pooler, Interim Dean, 5766 Shibles Hall, Room 151, Orono, ME 04469-5766, (207) 581-2441.
E-MAIL: anne.pooler@umit.maine.edu

College of Engineering: Dana N. Humphrey, Dean, 5796 Advanced Manufacturing Center, Room 210, Orono, ME 04469-5796, (207) 581-2216.
E-MAIL: dana.humphrey@umit.maine.edu

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences: Jeffrey Hecker, Dean, 5754 Stevens, Room 105, Orono, ME 04469-5754, (207) 581-1954.
E-MAIL: hecker@maine.edu

College of Natural Sciences, Forestry, and Agriculture: Edward Ashworth, Dean, 5782 Winslow Hall, Room 105, Orono, ME 04469-5782 (207) 581-3202. ,
E-MAIL: edward.ashworth@umit.maine.edu

Division of Lifelong Learning: Robert C. White, Assistant Provost and Dean, 5713 Chadbourne Hall, Room 122, Orono, ME 04469-5713, (207) 581-3113.
E-MAIL: rwhite@maine.edu

The Honors College: Charles P. Slavin, Dean, 5716 Colvin Hall, Orono, ME 04469-5716, (207) 581-3262.
E-MAIL: slavin@honors.umaine.edu

Academic Support Services for Student Athletes: Ann Maxim, Director, 5747 Memorial Gymnasium, Orono, ME 04469-5747, (207) 581-1828.
E-MAIL: maxim@maine.edu

Admissions (Undergraduate): Sharon Oliver, Director, 5713 Chadbourne Hall, Room 115, Orono, ME 04469-5713, (207) 581-1561.
E-MAIL: UM_ADMIT@maine.edu

Advanced Engineered Wood Composites Center: Habib Dagher, Director, AEWC, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-2138.
E-MAIL: habib.dagher@umit.maine.edu

Alumni Association: Todd Saucier, President, 1 Alumni Place, Buchanan Alumni House, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-1138.
E-MAIL: todd.saucier@umit.maine.edu

Athletics: Blake James, Director, 215 Memorial Gym, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-1057.
E-MAIL: blake.james@umit.maine.edu

Billing Issues: Dennis L. Casey, Bursar, 5703 Alumni Hall, Room 100, Orono, ME 04469-5703, (207) 581-1521.
E-MAIL: DLCASEY@maine.edu

Bureau of Labor Education: William C. Murphy, Director, 5713 Chadbourne Hall, Room 210, Orono, ME 04469-5713, (207) 581-4124.
E-MAIL: william.murphy@umit.maine.edu

Canadian-American Center: Stephen J. Hornsby, Director, 154 College Avenue, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-4220.
E-MAIL: hornsby@.maine.edu

Career Center: Patricia B. Counihan, Director, Memorial Union, Orono, ME 04469-5713, (207) 581-1359.
E-MAIL: COUNIHAN@maine.edu

Center for Aging: Lenard Kaye, Director, Camden Hall, 25 Texas Ave., Bangor, ME  04401, (207) 262-7922.
E-MAIL: len.kaye@umit.maine.edu

Center for Community Inclusion: Lucille A. Zeph, Director, 5717 Corbett Hall, Room 101, Orono, ME 04469-5717, (207) 581-1084.
E-MAIL: LU_ZEPH@admin.umead.maine.edu

Climate Change Institute: Paul A. Mayewski, Director, 5790 Bryand Global Science Center, Room 303, Orono, ME 04469-5790, (207) 581-2190.
E-MAIL: paul.mayewski@maine.edu

College Success Programs: Alan B. Parks, Director, 5725 East Annex, Orono, ME 04469-5757, (207) 581-2320.
E-MAIL: alan.parks@umit.maine.edu

Continuing and Distance Education and Summer Session: Robert C. White, Director, 5713 Chadbourne Hall, Orono, ME 04469-5713, (207) 581-3414.
E-MAIL: CEDSS@maine.edu

Cooperative Extension: John M. Rebar, Executive Director, 5741 Libby Hall, Room 102, Orono, ME 04469-5741, (207) 581-2811.
E-MAIL: jrebarl@umext.maine.edu

Counseling Center: Douglas Johnson, Director, 5721 Cutler Health Center, Room 125, Orono, ME 04469-5721, (207) 581-1392.
E-MAIL: doug.johnson@umit.maine.edu

Dean of Students: Robert Q. Dana, Dean of Students, 5748 Memorial Union, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-1406.
E-MAIL: robert.dana@umit.maine.edu

Equal Opportunity and Diversity: Karen Kemble, Director, 5754 North Stevens Hall, Room 101, Orono, ME 04469-5754, (207) 581-1226.
E-MAIL: kemble@maine.edu 

Explorations: Ethel Hill, Director, 5703 Alumni Hall, Room 229, Orono, ME 04469-5703, (207) 581-1831.
E-MAIL: ethel.hill@umit.maine.edu

Fogler Library: Joyce Rumery, Dean of Libraries, Fogler Library, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-1655.
E-MAIL: joyce.rumery@umit.maine.edu

Franco American Centre: Yvon A. Labbe, Director, Crossland Center, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-3775.
E-MAIL: LABBE@maine.edu

Franco American Studies: Susan Pinette, Director, 213 Little Hall, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-3791.
E-MAIL: susan.pinette@umit.maine.edu

Graduate School: Dan Sandweiss, Dean and Associate Provost for Graduate Studies, 120 Alumni Hall, Orono, ME 04469-5703, (207) 581-3217.
E-MAIL: dan.sandweiss@umit.maine.edu

Human Resources: Steven Weinberger, Assistant Vice President, 5717 Corbett Hall, Room 234, Orono, ME 04469-5717, (207) 581-1581.
E-MAIL: steven.weinberger@umit.maine.edu

Hutchinson Center: Sue McCullough, Director, 80 Belmont Avenue, Belfast, ME 04915, (207) 338-8000.
E-MAIL: carolyn.mccullough@maine.edu

Information Technologies: John Gregory, Executive Director, 263 Telecom Building, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-1602.
E-MAIL: John.Gregory@umit.maine.edu

International Programs (admissions): Karen Boucias, Director, 5782 Winslow Hall, Room 100, Orono, ME 04469-5782, (207) 581-2905.
E-MAIL: UMINTPRG@maine.edu

Maine Agricultural and Forest Experiment Station: Edward Ashworth, Director, 5782 Winslow Hall, Room 105, Orono, ME 04469-5782, (207) 581-3202.
E-MAIL: Edward.ashworth@umit.maine.edu

Margaret Chase Smith Center for Public Policy: Glenn Beamer, Director, York Complex #4, Orono, ME 04469-5715, (207) 581-4132.
E-MAIL: glenn.beamer@maine.edu

Multicultural Student Affairs: Angel Loredo, Associate Dean, 5748 Memorial Union, Orono, ME 04469-5748, (207) 581-1406.
E-MAIL: loredo@umit.maine.edu

National Center for Geographic Information and Analysis: Kate Beard-Tisdale, Director, 5711 Boardman Hall, Room 348B, Orono, ME 04469-5711, (207) 581-2149.
E-MAIL: beard@spatial.maine.edu

Native American Studies: Maureen E. Smith, Director, 5706 Aubert Hall, Suite 327B, Orono, ME 04469-5706, (207) 581-4450.
E-MAIL: Maureen.e.smith@umit.maine.edu

Peace Studies: Phyllis Brazee, Director, 5725 East Annex, Room 211, Orono, ME 04469-5776, (207) 581-2609.
E-MAIL: phyllis.brazee@umit.maine.edu

Public Safety: Noel March, Director, Rangeley Road, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-4053.
E-MAIL: noel.march@umit.maine.edu

Research and Sponsored Programs: Michael Hastings, Director, 5717 Corbett Hall, Orono, ME 04469-5717, (207) 581-1446.
E-MAIL: mhastings@maine.edu

Safety and Environmental Management: Wayne M. Maines, Director, York Village, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-4055
E-MAIL: wayne.maines@umit.maine.edu

Student Auxiliary Services: Robin Toderian, Assistant Vice President, 5734 Hilltop Commons, Room 101, Orono, ME 04469-5734, (207) 581-4578.
E-MAIL: robin.toderian@umit.maine.edu

Student Financial Aid: Peggy L. Crawford, Director, 5781 Wingate Hall, Room 101, Orono, ME 04469-5781, (207) 581-1324.
E-MAIL: PCRAWF@maine.edu

Student Health Services: Richard Young, Interim Director, 5721 Cutler Health Center, Orono, ME 04469-5721, (207) 581-4019.
E-MAIL: richard.young@umit.maine.edu

Student Records: Tammy Light, Director, 5781 Wingate Hall, Room 201, Orono, ME 04469-5781, (207) 581-1293.
E-MAIL: tammy.light@umit.maine.edu

University of Maine Foundation: Amos E. Orcutt, President and Chief Executive Officer, 2 Alumni Place, Buchanan Alumni House, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-5100, 1-800-982-8503.
E-MAIL: orcutt@maine.edu

University of Maine Pulp and Paper Foundation: Jack Healy, Executive Director, 5737 Jenness Hall, Orono, ME 04469-5737, (207) 581-2298.
E-MAIL: healy@maine.edu

University Relations: Joe Carr, Executive Director, 5761 Public Affairs Building, Orono, ME 04469-5761, (207) 581-3743.
E-MAIL: joe.carr@umit.maine.edu

Wabanaki Center: Gail Dana-Sacco, Director, 5724 Dunn Hall, Room 310, Orono, ME 04469-5724, (207) 581-1417.
E-MAIL: gail.dana@umit.maine.edu

Women in the Curriculum Program and Women’s Studies: Ann K. Schonberger, Director, 5728 Fernald Hall, Room 101, Orono, ME 04469-5728, (207) 581-1228. E-MAIL: ANNSCHON@maine.edu

Women’s Resource Center: Sharon E. Barker, Director, 5728 Fernald Hall, Room 101, Orono, ME 04469-5728, (207) 581-1508.
E-MAIL: SBARKER@maine.edu