Jan 22, 2022  
2004-2005 Graduate Catalog 
    
2004-2005 Graduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Officers and Faculty


Officers of the University of Maine
Correspondence Information

Inquiries should be directed as indicated below.

Chancellor:
Joseph W. Westphal, 107 Maine Avenue, Bangor, ME 04401 (207) 973-3205

Officers of the University of Maine

Interim President: Robert A. Kennedy, 5703 Alumni Hall, Room 200, Orono, ME 04469-5703, (207) 581-1512.
E-MAIL: robert.kennedy@umit.maine.edu

Interim Provost: John F. Mahon, 5703 Alumni Hall, Room 201, Orono, ME 04469-5703, (207) 581-1547.
E-MAIL: john.mahon@umit.maine.edu

Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs: Douglas A. Gelinas, 5703 Alumni Hall, Room 201, Orono, ME 04469-5703, (207) 581-1519.
E-MAIL: GELINAS@maine.edu

Associate Vice President for Personnel and Academic Services : Evelyn Stern Silver, 5703 Alumni Hall, Room 201, Orono, ME 04469-5703, (207) 581-1547.
E-MAIL: ESILVER@maine.edu

Vice President for Administration: Janet Waldron, 5703 Alumni Hall, Room 118, Orono, ME 04469-5703, (207) 581-1541.
E-MAIL: jwaldron@maine.edu

Vice President for Research: Michael Eckardt, 5703 Alumni Hall, Room 209, Orono, ME 04469-5703, (207) 581-1506.
E-MAIL: michael.eckardt@umit.maine.edu

Vice President for Student Affairs: Richard D. Chapman, 5703 Alumni Hall, Room 218, Orono, ME 04469-5703, (207)581-1430.
E-MAIL: richard.chapman@umit.maine.edu

Vice President for University Advancement: Jeffery N. Mills, Buchanan Alumni House, 1 Alumni Place, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-1138.
E-MAIL: jeff.mills@umit.maine.edu

College of Business, Public Policy and Health and Director of the Maine Business School: Daniel E. Innis, Dean and Director of The Maine Business School, 5723 Donald P. Corbett Business Building, Room 211, Orono, ME 04469-5723, (207) 581-1968.
E-MAIL: Innis@maine.edu

College of Education and Human Development: Robert A. Cobb, Dean, 5766 Shibles Hall, Room 151, Orono, ME 04469-5766, (207) 581-2441.
E-MAIL: RACOBB@maine.edu

College of Engineering: Larryl Matthews, Dean, 5708 Barrows Hall, Room 101, Orono, ME 04469-5708, (207) 581-2216.
E-MAIL: larryl.matthews@umit.maine.edu

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences: Ann Leffler, Dean, 5754 Stevens, Room 105, Orono, ME 04469-5754, (207) 581-1954.
E-MAIL: ann.leffler@umit.maine.edu

College of Natural Sciences, Forestry, and Agriculture: G. Bruce Wiersma, Dean, 5782 Winslow Hall, Room 105, Orono, ME 04469-5782 (207) 581-3202. ,
E-MAIL: WIERSMA@maine.edu

Division of Lifelong Learning: Robert C. White, Assistant Provost and Dean, 5713 Chadbourne Hall, Room 122, Orono, ME 04469-5713, (207) 581-3113.
E-MAIL: rwhite@maine.edu

The Honors College: Charles P. Slavin, Director, 5716 Colvin Hall, Orono, ME 04469-5716, (207) 581-3262.
E-MAIL: slavin@honors.umaine.edu

Academic and Career Exploration Program: Ethel Hill, Coordinator, 5703 Alumni Hall, Room 229, Orono, ME 04469-5703, (207) 581-1831.
E-MAIL: ethel.hill@umit.maine.edu

Academic Support Services for Student Athletes: Ann Maxim, Director, 5747 Memorial Gymnasium, Orono, ME 04469-5747, (207) 581-1828.
E-MAIL: maxim@maine.edu

Admissions (Undergraduate): Kim Johnston and Tammy Light, Interim Directors, 5713 Chadbourne Hall, Room 115, Orono, ME 04469-5713, (207) 581-1561.
E-MAIL: UM_ADMIT@maine.edu

Advanced Engineered Wood Composites Center: Habib Dagher, Director, AEWC, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-2138.
E-MAIL: habib.dagher@umit.maine.edu

Alumni Association: Jeffery N. Mills, President, 1 Alumni Place, Buchanan Alumni House, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-1138.
E-MAIL: jeff.mills@umit.maine.edu

Athletics: Patrick Nero, Director, 215 Memorial Gym, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-1057.
E-MAIL: patrick.nero@umit.maine.edu

Billing Issues: Dennis L. Casey, Bursar, 5703 Alumni Hall, Room 100, Orono, ME 04469-5703, (207) 581-1521.
E-MAIL: DLCASEY@maine.edu

Bureau of Labor Education: John R. Hanson, Director, 5713 Chadbourne Hall, Room 210, Orono, ME 04469-5713, (207) 581-4124.
E-MAIL: JHANSON@maine.edu

Canadian-American Center: Stephen J. Hornsby, Director, 154 College Avenue, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-4220.
E-MAIL: hornsby@.maine.edu

Career Center: Patricia B. Counihan, Director, Memorial Union, Orono, ME 04469-5713, (207) 581-1359.
E-MAIL: COUNIHAN@maine.edu

Center for Aging: Lenard Kaye, Director, Social Work Building, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-3483.
E-MAIL: len.kaye@umit.maine.edu

Center for Community Inclusion: Lucille A. Zeph, Director, 5717 Corbett Hall, Room 101, Orono, ME 04469-5717, (207) 581-1084.
E-MAIL: LU_ZEPH@admin.umead.maine.edu

Climate Change Institute: Paul A. Mayewski, Director, 5790 Bryand Global Science Center, Room 303, Orono, ME 04469-5790, (207) 581-2190.
E-MAIL: paul.mayewski@maine.edu

Continuing Education and Summer Session: James F. Toner, Assoc. Director, 5713 Chadbourne Hall, Orono, ME 04469-5713, (207) 581-3306.
E-MAIL: CEDSS@maine.edu

Cooperative Extension: Lavon L. Bartel, Dean and Director, 5741 Libby Hall, Room 102, Orono, ME 04469-5741, (207) 581-2811.
E-MAIL: lbartel@umext.maine.edu

Counseling Center: Douglas Johnson, 5721 Cutler Health Center, Room 125, Orono, ME 04469-5721, (207) 581-1392.
E-MAIL: doug.johnson@umit.maine.edu

Cultural Affairs and Libraries: Joyce Rumery, Interim Director, Fogler Library, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-1655.
E-MAIL: joyce.rumery@umit.maine.edu

Dean of Students: Robert Q. Dana, Dean of Students, 5748 Memorial Union, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-1406.
E-MAIL: robert.dana@umit.maine.edu

Enrollment Management: John E. Beacon, Assistant Provost and Dean, 5703 Alumni Hall, Orono, ME 04469-5703, (207) 581-1826.
E-MAIL: BEACON@maine.edu

Equal Opportunity: Susan Nichols, Executive Director, 5754 North Stevens Hall, Room 101, Orono, ME 04469-5754, (207) 581-1226.
E-MAIL: susan.nichols.maine.edu

Environmental Health and Safety: James Patrick, Director, 5725 East Annex, Room 120, Orono, ME 04469-5725, (207) 581-4055.
E-MAIL: jpatrick@umit.maine.edu

Franco American Centre: Yvon A. Labbe, Director, Crossland Center, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-3775.
E-MAIL: LABBE@maine.edu

Franco American Studies: Susan Pinette, Director, 213 Little Hall, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-3791.
E-MAIL: SPINETTE@maine.edu

Graduate School: Deirdre Mageean, Associate Vice President for Research and Dean, 5782 Winslow Hall, Room 2, Orono, ME 04469-5782, (207) 581-3218.
E-MAIL: deirdre.mageean@umit.maine.edu

Human Resources: Catherine Pease, Interim Director, 5717 Corbett Hall, Room 234, Orono, ME 04469-5717, (207) 581-1640.
E-MAIL: cpease@maine.edu

Information Technologies: John Gregory, Executive Director, 263 Telecom Building, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-1602.
E-MAIL: John.Gregory@umit.maine.edu

International Programs (admissions): Karen Boucias, Director, 5782 Winslow Hall, Room 100, Orono, ME 04469-5782, (207) 581-2905.
E-MAIL: UMINTPRG@maine.edu

Maine Agricultural and Forest Experiment Station: Stephen Reiling, Associate Director, 5782 Winslow Hall, Room 105, Orono, ME 04469-5782, (207) 581-3208.
E-MAIL: Reiling@maine.edu

Margaret Chase Smith Center for Public Policy: Jonathan Rubin, Interim Director, 5715 Coburn Hall, Room 15, Orono, ME 04469-5715, (207) 581-1645.
E-MAIL: jonathan.rubin@umit.maine.edu

Marketing and Public Affairs: (Vacant), Executive Director, 5761 Public Affairs Building, Orono, ME 04469-5761, (207) 581-3743.
E-MAIL:

Multicultural Student Affairs: Angel Loredo, Associate Dean, 5748 Memorial Union, Orono, ME 04469-5748, (207) 581-1406.
E-MAIL: loredo@umit.maine.edu

National Center for Geographic Information and Analysis: Max J. Egenhofer, Associate Director, 5711 Boardman Hall, Room 348B, Orono, ME 04469-5711, (207) 581-2114.
E-MAIL: MAX@spatial.maine.edu

Native American Studies: Maureen E. Smith, Director, 5724 Dunn Hall, Room 301, Orono, ME 04469-5724, (207) 581-4450.
E-MAIL: Maureen.e.smith@umit.maine.edu

Onward Program: Gerald C. Ellis, Director, 5757 Onward Building, Orono, ME 04469-5757, (207) 581-2320.
E-MAIL: JERELLIS@maine.edu

Peace Studies: Phyllis Brazee, Director, 5725 East Annex, Room 211, Orono, ME 04469-5776, (207) 581-2609.
E-MAIL: phyllis.brazee@umit.maine.edu

Public Safety: Noel March, Director, Rangely Road, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-4053.
E-MAIL: noel.march@umit.maine.edu

Research and Sponsored Programs: James Ward, Executive Director of Research and Economic Development, 5717 Corbett Hall, Orono, ME 04469-5717, (207) 581-1473.
E-MAIL: jake.ward@umit.maine.edu

Student Auxiliary Services: Robin Toderian, Executive Director, 5734 Hilltop Commons, Room 101, Orono, ME 04469-5734, (207) 581-4578.
E-MAIL: robin.toderian@umit.maine.edu

Student Financial Aid: Peggy L. Crawford, Director, 5781 Wingate Hall, Room 101, Orono, ME 04469-5781, (207) 581-1324.
E-MAIL: PCRAWF@maine.edu

Student Health Services: Mark Jackson, Director, 5721 Cutler Health Center, Orono, ME 04469-5721, (207) 581-4019.
E-MAIL: JACKSON@maine.edu

Student Records: Peter R. Reid, Director, 5781 Wingate Hall, Room 201, Orono, ME 04469-5781, (207) 581-1293.  E-MAIL: peter.reid@umit.maine.edu

University of Maine Foundation: Amos E. Orcutt, President and Chief Executive Officer, 2 Alumni Place, Buchanan Alumni House, Orono, ME 04469, (207) 581-5100, 1-800-982-8503.
E-MAIL: orcutt@maine.edu

University of Maine Pulp and Paper Foundation: Peter A. Duncan., Executive Director, 5737 Jenness Hall, Room 217, Orono, ME 04469-5737, (207) 581-2295.
E-MAIL: peter.duncan@umit.maine.edu

Wabanaki Center: John Bear Mitchell, Interim Director, 5724 Dunn Hall, Room 310, Orono, ME 04469-5724, (207) 581-1417.
E-MAIL: john.mitchell@umit.maine.edu

Women in the Curriculum Program and Women’s Studies: Ann K. Schonberger, Director, 5728 Fernald Hall, Room 101, Orono, ME 04469-5728, (207) 581-1228.
E-MAIL: ANNSCHON@maine.edu

Women’s Resource Center: Sharon E. Barker, Director, 5728 Fernald Hall, Room 101, Orono, ME 04469-5728, (207) 581-1508.
E-MAIL: SBARKER@maine.edu